Burglary or breaking and entering are largely the same offenses under Michigan statutes. If you are charged with these crimes in the state of Michigan, you face serious penalties. Whether you admit to breaking the law and wish you could simply move on with your life, or if you claim you are innocent of the charges, we may be able to help.Charged with a crime in Michigan? Please call (888) 595-9728.
There are several laws that cover breaking and entering and related charges under Michigan statutes. Being charged with any one of these offenses can change your life dramatically. Fortunately, a local defense attorney can assist you in potentially minimizing the effects of these charges and working to help you avoid the worst penalties.
Michigan Burglary - Laws and Penalties
There are several different statutes that are related to burglary and breaking and entering. The facts of your case and the evidence that the prosecutor has will determine the charge you face.
Third Degree Home Invasion
If you are accused of breaking and entering a dwelling (without permission) with the intent to commit a misdemeanor or if while within you break the terms of your probation, parole, or a protection order, you could face charges of home invasion in the third degree.
This offense is a felony charge and carries up to 5 years in prison and fines reaching $2,000.
Second Degree Home Invasion
Second degree home invasion charges apply if you are believed to have broken and entered a dwelling without permission, with intent to commit a felony, larceny, or assault while within, whether or not your were successful.
If convicted, this offense carries up to 15 years in prison and fines reaching $3,000.
First Degree Home Invasion
You could be facing first degree home invasion charges if you break and enter a dwelling with the intent to commit a felony, larceny, or assault, and you are either armed at the time or someone is present within the dwelling.
This offense carries up to 20 years in prison and $5,000 in fines if convicted.
Michigan Breaking and Entering Laws
If the crime of breaking and entering is committed on a building or structure other than a dwelling, you could face this charge. Breaking and entering (B & E) carries a potential penalty of up to 10 years in prison upon conviction.
Possession of Burglar’s Tools
If you are accused of possessing the tools of a burglary, usually those that can help you gain access to secure areas, and it can be proven that burglary was your intended use for them, you could face this felony charge and up to 10 years in prison.
All burglary charges are serious charges. You are facing many years in prison if convicted. If you are accused of a crime like this, contact us today to see how we can help.