Disorderly conduct, known under Michigan law as a disorderly persons offense (MCL 750.168) is a catch all for several offenses in Michigan. What might be considered under a heading all its own in other states (public intoxication for instance) can be grouped in the disorderly persons statute. Because this offense is so common, and subjectively applied having a skilled defense attorney can be extremely helpful. If is often possible to get these charges completely dropped, preserving you for getting a permanent criminal record. Call and talk to us about the specifics of your case.Charged with a crime in Michigan? Please call (888) 595-9728.
What is a Disorderly Persons Charge?
You can be considered disorderly and subsequently charged with this offense if you:
- Refuse to support your family
- Are a prostitute, window peeper, or vagrant
- Engage in illegal business
- Beg in public
- Loiter where illegal activities are taking place
- Cause a public disturbance in public while intoxicated
- Crowd or jostle people unnecessarily in public
The penalty for this misdemeanor charge is up to 90 days in prison and a fine of not more than $500.00.
Molesting and Disturbing Persons in Pursuit of Occupation MDL 750.352
If you hinder or interfere with someone while they are in commission of their occupation or on their way to their occupation, you can be charged with a misdemeanor. Misdemeanors typically bring less than one year in prison and a fine.
False Report of Crime MDL 750.411a
If you report to law enforcement that a crime took place when you know that to be untrue, you can be charged with this offense.
The severity of the sentence depends on the crime you falsely reported. If the crime you reported was a misdemeanor, you can be charge with a misdemeanor. If you falsely reported a felony, you may be charged with a felony.
Misdemeanor false reporting carries a potential sentence of up to 93 days in jail and a fine of up to $500.
Felony false reporting, however, carries a possible sentence of up to 4 years in prison and a fine of up to $2,000.
In this offense, you can be charged if your report to the police or dispatch.
Hazing MDL 750.411t
Once quite common, hazing has become a crime in most states. In Michigan, you may be charged with hazing if you (while attending or being employed by an educational institution), commit an intentional act against someone knowing it will endanger their physical health or safety for the purpose of pledging, initiation, or maintaining office in any organization.
There are a range of activities that can be considered hazing, including:
- Physical brutality
- Physical activities involving sleep deprivation, exposure to elements, confinement, or excessive exercise
- Activities involving the consumption of food, alcohol, drugs, or other drinks
- Forcing or coercing someone into criminal activity
If the hazing causes:
Then the sentence could be:
- up to 93 days in jail and $1,000 fine.
-up to 5 years in prison and $2,500 fine.
-up to 15 years in prison and $10,000 fine.