There are multiple reasons that you may have lost your license. But now you face a criminal charge of driving on a suspended or revoked license.Charged with a crime in Michigan? Please call (888) 595-9728.
Even if you were not aware of a license suspension, and you believed you had a valid license, that may not be a legal defense. however, there are absolutely things we can do to challenge this offense, and fight to keep your license. Call for a legal consultation on your case today, and we’ll suggest ways we can help beat this offense.
Ref: Driving While Revoked or Suspended: MDL 257.904
How did I lose my Michigan Driver’s License in the first place?
Michigan judges can sentence you to suspension or even revocation of your license for a variety of charges, including:
- Hit & Run
- OWI/DUI (drunk driving)
- Fleeing from police
- Reckless driving
- Driving without insurance
- Other traffic tickets, citations, moving violations or driving offenses
Regardless of why your license was suspended, if you are caught driving you will be charged, and can absolutely be facing real jail time.
However, if your license was suspended for more serious offenses (OWI),
Driving on a Suspended License – Laws & Penalties
Driving on a suspended or revoked license in Michigan is a misdemeanor offense.
If this is a first offense of this nature, you face a potential sentence of up to 93 days in jail and up to $500.
However, if this is your second or subsequent conviction you face up to 1 year in prison and up to $1,000 in fines.
What is the Difference Between a Revoked License and a Suspended License?
A revoked driver’s license is a more serious outcome than a suspended driver’s license.
A license revocation puts the offender in the position they were in before they ever had a license and the ONLY way to then get a license is to go through the a driver’s license restoration process, which can involve a lot of paperwork, possible reinstatement hearings, or other complex problems. You may be denied a license, or issued a restricted (occupational) license instead.
With a suspension, your license comes back and is automatically reinstated after the suspension period is up. You only have to pay the reinstatement fee of $125 and any applicable driver responsibility fees, and your Michigan driver’s license will be restored.
I got in an accident while driving on my suspended license, now what?
What would have been simple a misdemeanor charge can escalate to a felony when an accident is involved.The penalties may be more serious depending on the outcome and damage in the car accident.
If someone was hurt in the accident, you could face up to 5 years in prison and fines of $1,000 to $5,000.
If while driving under suspension your driving causes the death of another person, you will be face up to 15 years in prison and a fine of $2,500 to $10,000.
If your license is revoked or suspended and you are charged with driving during that period, your auto insurance company will almost certainly find out about the violation and raise your rates, require special coverage or even drop your coverage entirely.
Driving on a suspended license is very common and an offense that is often difficult to avoid.
When your license is suspended or revoked life becomes very difficult. Without widespread public transportation in Michigan you are left trying to find alternative ways of getting around, getting to work. Because of this, we know that driving on a suspended or revoked license is common, but we also know that it is a law violation the state of Michigan will prosecute.
Our experienced attorneys can not only help you decipher the law and make sense of your legal battle, they can put you at ease. When an attorney has dealt with the court of jurisdiction before, they know the people and situations quite well. This experienced knowledge can be a vital asset in your case.
Our goal is to get you out of a jam, and figure out how to get your license back as quickly as possible. If you are charged with a criminal offense of driving while your license is under suspension in Michigan, please contact us for a free case evaluation.