Michigan Larceny Laws
Charged with a crime in Michigan? Please call (888) 595-9728.
In Michigan, most crimes involving theft fall under Michigan’s larceny laws. Larceny consequences run the gamut from misdemeanor sentences to more serious felony charges. If you are facing larceny charges in Michigan, call today for a consultation on your case.
Item Property Values and Larceny Charges
How you are charged and your potential sentence is largely dependent on what it was that was stolen.
|If the item(s) or money stolen was:
1. Worth less than $200
2. Worth more than $200, but less than $1,000
3. Worth more than $1,000 and less than $20,000
4. Worth more than $20,000
|Then you face:
Larceny Laws and Penalties
Larceny from the Person
If you steal something directly from someone, removing it from them physically, you will be charged with a felony and face up to 10 years in prison. (Larceny from the Person MCL 750.357)
Larceny from a Vacant Dwelling
If you enter a vacant home and remove or damage property or materials inside, you can be charged with a misdemeanor and face up to one year in prison and $1,000 in fines. Similar to burglary, this often applies to vacant homes under construction. (Larceny from a Vacant Dwelling MCL 750.359)
Michigan Shoplifting Laws & Penalties (Retail Fraud)
Retail Fraud in the Second Degree MDL 750.356
You can be charged with retail fraud in the second degree if you either alter or misrepresent the price on an item as to not pay for or pay less for the item, or if you steal the property.
The value of the property or the value of the amount you were trying to get out of paying must be more than $200 or less than $1,000.
If charged with this criminal offense, you are facing misdemeanor charges with a potential sentence of up to one year in prison and fines of $2,000 or 3 times the value of the stolen property (whichever is more).
Retail Fraud in the First Degree MDL750.356c
You can be charged with retail fraud in the first degree if you either alter or misrepresent the price on an item as to not pay for or pay less for the item, or if you steal the property.
The value of the property or the value of the amount you were trying to get out of paying must be more than $1,000 or more.
This is a felony charge and will have you facing up to 5 years in prison and fines of $10,000 or 3 times the value of the stolen property (whichever is more).