Possession with Intent
Possession with Intent: Michigan Drug Laws and Penalties
Michigan’s drug laws are extremely tough, particularly in cases related to intent to sell or manufacture. If you have been caught with a controlled substance and are facing drug distribution or “possession with intent” charges, you know you are at risk or significant jail time. When you are up against charges like these, you need a top, experienced defense lawyer on your side right away.Please call us for a consultation on your case today. You have no time to lose in preparing your defense.Charged with a crime in Michigan? Please call (888) 595-9728.
Michigan Drug Possession w/Intent – Drug Categories
How you are sentenced and charges depends on what type or schedule of controlled substance you were caught with.
Michigan categorizes its controlled substances into the following schedules:
(These lists are not extensive.)
Michigan Drug Possession w/Intent – Penalties
The following potential sentences apply if you are charged with manufacturing, delivering, or being in possession of with intent to manufacture, create, or deliver.
|If the drug in question is:
Schedule I or II substances
Ecstacy or methamphetamines
|Then you may face:
All of the above offenses are felonies. MCL 333.7401.
Other Controlled Substances
GHB, also referred to as the date rape drug, “liquid ecstacy, or “G” is a very dangerous drug and warrants its own section in the Michigan statutes.
If you are charged with possession with intent to distribute or manufacture GHB you will face felony charges and a potential sentence of up to 7 years and fines of $5,000.
Manufacturing of Controlled Substances in Michigan
You cannot own, possess, or use a vehicle, building, or area as a location to manufacture a controlled substance, possess tools used to manufacture drugs, or provide someone else with laboratory equipment for the manufacture of drugs. If you do you can be charged with a felony and face up to 10 years in prison and a fine of $10,000.
If the drug in question is methamphetamines the punishment is harsher. You will face up to 20 years and fines of $25,000.
(See MCL 333.7401c for more info on Drug Manufacturing laws in Michigan)
This law does not apply to intent to distribute marijuana.
Free Case Evaluation on Michigan Felony Drug Laws
Because of the seriousness of drug charges in Michigan, you need an attorney who is experienced in the system. Michigan is nationally recognized as one of the toughest states on drug offenses. When you are facing charges of this magnitude you want to be confident that you are getting the best possible results. Putting your trust in a qualified attorney gives you such confidence.