Michigan newspapers are editorializing support for the proposed, so-called “Extreme Drunken Driving” bill, which would toughen penalties for those convicted of OWI / drunken driving in Michigan with high BAC levels (.15 BAC and above).
The bill has not been voted on on the Michigan state Senate, but it believed to have a support of the majority of legislators. The Governor is believed to be prepared to sign the bill into law, if passed. Delays have been based on some senators concerns about removing judicial discretion in sentencing, and details on the requirements for the alcohol treatment programs.
Among the proposed changes to the law are:
If a person is convicted of a first offense drunken driving charge in Michigan and registered a .15 BAC or higher on a breathalyzer (almost double the legal limit of .08 BAC), he or she will face:
- A 45 day driver’s license suspension
- Required entry into an alcohol abuse education and treatment program
- After the 45 day suspension, the offender will be eligible for a restricted driver’s license that would require an ignition interlock device be installed on his car for 1 year
If cases of a second offense Michigan drunken driving conviction, the “Extreme Drunken Driving” law changes would be in effect for any BAC over the legal limit of .08%.
If you are facing a drunken driving charge in Michigan, please contact us for a free legal case evaluation and consultation. Our Michigan OWI defense lawyers know how to help you fight the charges and protect your license and freedom to drive.
For your free OWI / drunken driving consultation, contact us today.